Vice Chancellor

Dr. Ganga Ram Jakher
Vice - Chancellor
Maharaja Ganga Singh University
Phone No. +91-151-2212041
Fax No. + 91-151-2212042
Residence Address: 23, Civil Lines, Bikaner
Phone No. +91-151-2200181
E-mail ID:

Academic Qualification

  • Professor in Zoology (Retd.) and Former Head Department of Zoology, Jai Narain Vyas University, Jodhpur
  • Specialization in Limnology (including saline lakes studies)
  • Co-Director, International Consortium for Salt lakes Research (ICLB), Oregon State University, Corvollis (USA) 1989-1996.
  • Member on Editorial Boards of Various Scientific Journals.

Research Supervision

  • Produced 10 Ph.D. Scholars and Guided M.Phil. Dissertations.

Research Publication

  • Published 42 research papers in national and international journals.

Books Edited

  • Two

Special Contribution

  • Management of Fresh Water Resources and Wild Life Conservation.

Countries Visited

  • Spain, Germany and France in connection with academic pursuit.

Membership Academic/Executive Bodies

  • Member, Senate, Jai Narain Vyas University, Jodhpur (from 1985-2007)
  • Member, Syndicate, (Chief Executive Body) Jai Narain Vyas University, Jodhpur (1991-1997) and 2000-2007)
  • Member, Finance Committee, Jai Narain Vyas University, Jodhpur (2000-2003).
  • Member, Academic Council, Jai Narain Vyas University, Jodhpur (2002-2009).
  • Member, Selection Committee, Vardhman Mahaveer Open University, Kota, nominated by Government of Rajasthan as Educationist (2009-2010).

Extra Curricular Activities

  • Commissioned as NCC Officer by the President of India and served for 15 years.

Special Honour

  • Conferred with the Honorary rank of "Colonel" in the National Cadet Corp by the Government of India on 23rd April, 2011.


  • Member, Executive Committee, Film Society of Jodhpur, a leading cultural organization of the City (Adjudged as the best Film Society in North Zone).

Former Vice Chancellors

S.N. Name From To
1 Prof. Hosiyar Singh 21-08-2003 11-01-2006
2 Dr. Vimlendu Tayal (Acting) 12-01-2006 07-08-2006
3 Dr. C. B. Gena 08-08-2006 31-05-2009
4 Shri Preetam Singh, IAS (Acting) 01-06-2009 11-12-2009

पूर्व कुलपति

क्र.सं. नाम से को
१. प्रो. होशियार सिंह 21-08-2003 11-01-2006
२. डॉ विमलेन्दु तायल (कार्यकारी) 12-01-2006 07-08-2006
३. डॉ सी. बी. गेना 08-08-2006 31-05-2009
४. श्री प्रीतम सिंह (कार्यकारी) 01-06-2009 11-12-2009